It’s ladies first as African Utility Week Industry Awards finalists are announced


Ladies take centre stage at this year’s African Utility Week Industry Awards with an all women cast and a strong line-up of ladies amongst the finalists for the coveted awards for leading energy and water professionals.

Zelda la Grange, former SA President Nelson Mandela’s personal assistant, is this year’s guest speaker at the awards. She currently serves as the Patron for the First for Women Foundation, is non-executive Director of the non-profit organisation Healing Hands and annually acts as a co-ordinator of Bikers for Mandela Day.

The MC for the African Utility Week Industry Awards is Claire Mawisa, well-known media personality, broadcaster and Carte Blanche investigative journalist.

Women are well represented amongst the award finalists and this year four ladies grace the shortlist for the Lifetime Achievement Award. Huawei, the global information and telecommunication giant, is the lead sponsor for the African Utility Week Industry Awards.

The fourth edition of the annual awards aims to honour pioneering utilities, projects and people in the energy and water industry on the continent. To reflect the evolution of the energy and water sectors, the following new categories are included this year:

  • Small-Scale Sustainable Energy Project (under 5MW)
  • Innovative Technology of the Year
  • Deal of the Year

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Azeb Asnake, CEO, Ethiopian Electric Power, Ethiopia
  • Barry MacColl, GM: Research, Testing & Development, Eskom, South Africa
  • Dale Robertson, president, Enerscan Consultants Ltd, Canada
  • Des Muller, chairman, NIASA Supply Chain Development Sub-Committee, South Africa
  • Dr. Elham Mahmood Ahmed Ibrahim, commissioner for Infrastructure & Energy, African Union Commission, Ethiopia
  • Fred Kabagambe-Kaliisa, permanent secretary, Ministry of Energy & Mineral Development, Uganda
  • Grania Rosette Rubomboras, programme officer: Power Projects, Nile Basin Initiative NELSAP, Rwanda/Uganda
  • Helen Tarnoy, cofounder and MD, Aldwych International Ltd, United Kingdom
  • Oladele Amoda, MD and CEO at Eko Electricity Distribution PLC, Nigeria
  • Wim Jonker Klunne, programme director: Energy & Environment Partnership Programme, Southern and East Africa

Outstanding Contribution Award: Power

  • Akon, founder, Akon Lighting Africa, Various Countries
  • Charlotte Aubin-Kalaidjian, founding partner, GreenWish Partners, France, Senegal, Cote d’Ivoire, Nigeria
  • Hendrik Schloemann, founder and CEO, Zonke Energy, South Africa
  • Lovemore Chilimanzi, technical director, Africa GreenCo, South Africa
  • Michael Gratwicke, head of Energy, Rift Valley Energy, Tanzania & Zimbabwe
  • Sicelo Goodwill Xulu, MD, City Power, South Africa

Outstanding Contribution Award: Water

  • Chris Heymans, senior water and sanitation specialist, World Bank Water and Sanitation Programme, Kenya
  • Joyce Msiru, CEO, Moshi Urban Water Supply and Sanitation Authority, Tanzania
  • Philip Gichuki, MD, Nairobi City Water and Sewerage Company, Kenya
  • Silver Mugisha, MD, National Water and Sewerage Corporation, Uganda
  • Yolandi Schoeman, MD, Baoberry, South Africa

Outstanding Woman of the Year: Power/Water

  • Agatha Nnaji, MD, Geometric Power, Nigeria
  • Azeb Asnake, CEO, Ethiopian Electric Power, Ethiopia
  • Chantelle Abdul, CEO, MOJEC Meter Company & MOJEC Power, Nigeria
  • Eunice Ntobedzi, innovator, EmPowered, Botswana
  • Rethabile Melamu, GM, Green Economy, South Africa
  • Rose Kaggwa, director: Business and Scientific Services, National Water and Sewerage Corporation, Uganda
  • Sandisiwe Ncemane, manager: Business Development Energy Projects, Coega Development Corporation, South Africa
  • Subha Nagarajan, MD, OPIC, Côte d’Ivoire

Young Energy Leader Award

  • Astria Fataki, president, Energy Development, France/Togo
  • Beatrice Muthoni, renewable energy consultant, KTDA Power Company, Kenya
  • Faith Chege, East African regional associate, Factor[e] Ventures, Kenya
  • Fatima Oyiza Ademoh, founder and CEO, Ajima Youth Empowerment Foundation, Nigeria
  • Paseka Lesolang, founder, Water Hygiene Convenience, South Africa
  • Samir Ibrahim, CEO and cofounder, SunCulture, Kenya

Power Utility of the Year

Ethiopian Electric Power, Ethiopia; Geothermal Development Company, Kenya; KenGen, Kenya; Rwanda Energy Group Limited, Rwanda

Water Utility of the Year

Lilongwe Water Board, Malawi; Nairobi City Water & Sewerage Company, Kenya; National Water & Sewerage Corporation, Uganda; ONEA, Burkina Faso.

Large Scale Renewable Energy Project

  • Bokpoort CSP Power Plant, ACWA Power, South Africa
  • Gilgel Gibe III, Ethiopia
  • NOORo, Morocco
  • Senergy 2 solar PV plant, GreenWish Partners, Senegal
  • Solar Capital De Aar 3 PV project, Phelan Energy Group, South Africa

Small-Scale Sustainable Energy Project

  • Off-Grid Pay-as-you-go Solar Home Systems, Mobisol, East Africa
  • Kwa Mtoro, E.ON Off-Grid Solutions GmbH / Rafiki Power, Tanzania
  • Mwenga Hydro Ltd, Rift Valley Energy, Tanzania
  • PayGo Solar Home Systems, Azuri Technologies, Kenya
  • Solar Turtle, South Africa
  • Stortemelk Hydro, Renewable Energy Holdings, South Africa

Innovative Technology of the Year

  • Asset Management Framework, Globeleq South Africa Management Services, South Africa
  • Gou Tou Prepayment Project, Umeme Limited, Uganda
  • Ikeja Smart Metering Project, Ikeja Electricity Distribution Company, Nigeria
  • Jisomee Mita, Nairobi City Water & Sewerage Company, Kenya
  • Solar Turtle, South Africa

Deal of the Year

  • 100MW Kathu Solar Park project, Engie, South Africa
  • Innovative Solar Systems, Lumos Global, Nigeria
  • Lubilia Kawembe Hydro Ltd, FMO, Netherlands
  • Senergy 2 solar PV plant, GreenWish Partners, Senegal
  • ZESCO New Electricity Connections, Standard Chartered Bank/USAID, Zambia

African Utility Week takes place from 16-18 May 2017 at the CTICC in Cape Town, gathering over 7000 decision makers in the power and water sectors from more than 40 countries to source the latest solutions and meet over 300 suppliers. For more info, go to